Devastated Voter

I voted on election day and for awhile it seemed like my vote didn’t matter. I was upset by the results. And I have to admit, I felt resentment to people in my life who I knew voted for Trump. Betrayal even. But since then, I have been thinking and trying to put everything into perspective and trying to look at the positive side of this outcome.

There was initially shock that Trump had won. Primarily because OMG how could a person who spat so much racist and sexist rhetoric win the vote. But the reality is, he did because the ideologies that he has, more people have those same ideologies than we realize. I do believe that because I live in NYC, there is a heterogeneous mixture as opposed to more secluded areas of the country. My idea is that in order to fix something, it has to be broken. And I do believe that this election will break out country open and expose all the things it has hidden to its core and its the only way to fix it. We have to acknowledge that it exists. I believe the next 4 years will be a difficult journey but maybe its necessary.

Leave a Reply

