I’m an Artist and I’m Sensitive ’bout my sh*t.

This summer our writing group met with a skeleton crew, as people were traveling and busy so we had a dinner to celebrate and to reconnect. These guys are so amazing. I don’t think they understand how much their presence and encouragement on all things, not just writing leaves such an impression on me. They are supportive and critical all in the same breath. They force me to work, to think and to challenge myself in ways I didn’t know possible. The end of this month we all registered for another writing class which is how we originally met. A novel writing class which is just whew…nerve wracking to say the least. There are 2 of the 5 of us who are well on their way to a complete novel. One who has a full completed piece and we are encouraging him to submit his work for publication. No one can really understand how hard it is to put your work your for critique, especially when for most of us, the things we do write are so very personal. It’s like someone attacking your baby…..like Eykah Badu says. I am artist and I’m sensitive about my shit!
The work itself is the reward though. And knowing that people connect to what you are writing trumps it all. The challenge this month is to submit a finished piece of fiction…a short story to a competition. So here it goes.

 

2 thoughts on “I’m an Artist and I’m Sensitive ’bout my sh*t.”

    1. It absolutely takes getting used to and sometimes even though it’s constructive the best thing to learn is how to decide whether you want to use the criticism. Sometimes its just doesnt gel with the direction you want to take. You have to trust your instincts in honing your craft.

      Like

Leave a Reply

